School offers three scenically positioned boarding
houses, which is home to 40% of our pupils. Arthur
Kingwill House accommodates the boys from Grade 5-Gr12
and Herby Arnott House is home to the girls of the same
grades. The Grade 1 -4 boys and girls are accommodated
in Max Kroon House, a unique home from home, for about
A brief history
In 1939 an
important milestone was reached at Union High when Mr.
Bernie Pitman started a hostel at 83 Somerset Street,
the first official school hostel for boys. This
attracted more boys to the School, resulting in
increased stability, and UHS started burgeoning forth as
a force with which to be reckoned.
Prior to this boys had boarded privately with firstly, the Hillyard's at 40 Cradock Street and then in Stockenstroom Street, the Roberts's in Market square, the Fouche's and the Mackay's. Mr. Dodd took over from the Pitman's when they left in 1946, and was followed by Mr. Arnott. The latter spent all his time in the hostel, and moved with the boys to Arthur Kingwill House in 1953, a momentous event in the life of the School. Hoffie Hofmeyr ran a small hostel in Bourke Street (Atholl House).